Teaching Tip: Partnering Up

Posted on

Some children learn to read almost effortlessly, and others seem to struggle endlessly. I recently started working with a little guy in first grade named Cayden. Halfway through the year, he had pretty much given up. While the other students in his class were engaged in reading and writing, Cayden had perfected the art of […]

Video: What is Literacy Footprints?

Posted on

Created by teachers for teachers, Literacy Footprints is a complete guided reading system cocreated by myself and fellow literacy expert, Jan Richardson. Hear directly from Jan and I as we detail the program’s components and successes. If you are interested in getting a sample of Literacy Footprints, please visit the Literacy Footprints website.

New Springtime BookBuilder Stories

Posted on

Students love seeing their own names in print, and that’s one reason that I love creating stories for BookBuilder Online. It’s simple to add names, print out the book, and assemble the story for classroom or home use. To celebrate the beginning of spring (even if it’s still winter where you are), here are two great FREE seasonal […]

Need More Books?

Posted on

[This post is a guest post from our Marketing Coordinator, Rachel. Rachel handles lots of the marketing and social media business for Pioneer Valley Books. Today she’s sharing some awesome updates from a couple of their digital projects.] At Pioneer Valley Books, we love doing whatever we can to ensure that teachers have as many […]

Fan Mail of the Month: Thanks, Eliza!

Posted on

We love getting fan mail from young readers here at Pioneer Valley Books! Students write letters to all our characters, but Bella and Rosie are definitely fan favorites around here! I especially loved this recent letter from Eliza to Bella and Rosie! In the letter, Eliza writes: Dear Bella and Rosie, I love you, Bella […]

Get back into the school spirit with BookBuilder Online!

Posted on

It’s September, which in our world only means one thing: back to school! Our BookBuilder™ Online tool is such a great resource for getting kids excited to be back in school. BookBuilder™ Online is a fun, easy way to personalize stories for young readers. Just insert the student’s name and the names of important people in […]

Our August BookBuilders!

Posted on

Every month, we create two free, printable books and make them downloadable via our BookBuilder Online. For August, we’ve got two awesome new stories for you! Because August means back to school season, our first story is called “Back to School.” (Level 2/B) Our second story this month is perfect for fall weather. It’s called “Delicious […]

Our July BookBuilder Books for You!

Posted on

Every month, we create two free, printable books and make them downloadable via our BookBuilder Online. For July,  both of our stories are about summer vacation! Our first story is “The Summer Book Report.” (Level 18/J) Kids can insert their own names into these stories to personalize them. Fans of Bella & Rosie will especially love […]

A Free Calendar for You!

Posted on

Wow, June is already breezing past us! It seems like it just began. How is it already the 13th? If you’re as shocked to hear about today’s date as I am, then maybe you need this free calendar we’ve made for you! Every month, our talented production team creates free, downloadable Bella & Rosie calendars. […]